RSS

The Perils of Not Being a Christian

19 Feb

I am still rather new to this whole blogging thing and one of the blogs that I have happened to trip across is Amanda the atheist.  Her blogs has provided me with some interesting insights, links and has given me new fuel for my own personal thoughts on belief and religion.  Like any blog she discusses a wide variety of things, however it is her posts on religion/atheism that have provided me with some interesting critical thinking.

For the last few years I have been stuck on the decision as to whether I am a Deist or an Atheist.  While a quick review of their definitions can show one that they are very different in meaning and thought actually having to debate the two internally shows they have a lot of similarities.  I am 37 years old and I am still unsure of my religious leanings.  I was not raised in a religious family at all.  Weddings and what not at a church, some time at a Baptist Summer camp, but no real exploration into Christianity and when I would ask questions I was always shot down with the old stand by of, “take it on faith.”  Well, that does not fit in with my personality, I am the type that requires proof for what I am expected to accept as fact.

People do amuse me though, take for instance something that happened in my Intro. to Lit. class the other night.  We were discussing the short story “Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been” and I was pointing out all the religious (Christian) connotations in the story.  I do not know how it came about, but it was soon revealed that I do not accept the Bible as fact and then came the questions:

  • How can you not believe in the Bible but make all these claims about the story? (Bible can be read by anyone, hello)
  • Don’t you know Jesus died for you?  (Honestly, in the current age we are in I could sue him for infringing on my right to sin.)
  • You talk about the Bible as if you know it but don’t believe in it? (Well yes, how can you debate something without knowing it?)
  • And many more…

I’ve read various versions of the Christian bible and of course different translations.  How is anyone supposed to base a belief system off of something that is so self-contradictory?  One of the topics I’ve researched is homosexuality, specifically the verses that are most commonly used to argue against it.  The interesting thing is, the Bible does not in fact say what people think it does about homosexuality.  Here is one of my favorite articles written about the subject, particularly considering the author himself is a reverend.

I do not understand how it is that a religion that is supposed to be built on love and forgiveness can have some of the most hateful people as followers?  People wonder why I am so against any religious involvement in government and all I need to do is reflect on the hate that is shown by “honest christian” people towards those they deem unworthy.  Why is it so hard to live and let live, to let others have their own lives?

When Christ compelled his followers to spread his message, he did not intend for you to throw us all on the ground and shove it down our throats.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in atheism, Bigotry, Deism, discrimination, Personal, Religion

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Perils of Not Being a Christian

  1. Jenni

    February 19, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I was raised much the same way. For years I thought there was something wrong with me because I had so many questions and no one wanted to hear them it was as if they listened to my questions they would burn in hell. I have not done much real digging and looking for my answers because it just has not been really important to me. I know that I am a good person and I do the best I can do to be one, I put my family and kids first and I believe in pay it forward and good karma. Some day perhaps Ill find the time to read up and really put a label to my beliefs but much like voting I do not feel the need to attach a label to it.

    Like

     

What's On Your Mind?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

