RSS

Let’s Talk About Gun Control

12 Mar
No Guns

No Guns (Photo credit: krazydad / jbum)

Why not, huh?  My big coming back debut, why not talk about this hot button topic.  As with most every other topic I am probably going to piss off everyone with this post, however, I stand by my original statement that these are my thoughts and as always I welcome spirited discussion on them.  Recent events (within the last year), have brought this topic into the forefront once again and it is far past time for me to comment on it fully and share my thoughts on all the different aspects of it.  Let’s start this off like this:

Should private citizens be allowed to own guns?  Absolutely!  Does the 2nd Amendment guarantee private citizens the right to own guns?  By my understanding of it, no it does not.  Seriously, prove to me you are in a militia and then we will talk.  Should there be some form of gun control in this country?  Fucking right there should be and all you cry baby republitards need to get a grip, or will it take one of your kids getting shot at school to make you see things differently?

I have talked about the 2nd Amendment before so I not gonna get into that here, however what I am going to talk about is why we need gun control/monitoring laws.  Answer me this, why shouldn’t you have to pass a background check to own a gun?  You have to take a test to get a driver’s license don’t ya?  Why should this be any different?  This has nothing to be with personal rights, if you are not willing to go through a background check, what is it you are trying to hide?  There should be background checks and qualification exams for many things in this country, such as owning a computer or becoming a parent.  Both of which any idiot can do and cause plenty of harm with both.  The entire point of background checks is to make sure that only stable/safe people are owning guns to lessen the chance of incidents like school shootings are lessened.

One incident that happened here in Maine that bothers me is a local newspaper publishing the names of people that have concealed carry permits.  That is very wrong in my opinion, that is setting them up to be a target.  Why not publish the names of people that have more than $250,000 in their bank accounts or who wear thousands of dollars of jewelry all the time.  While this information is available publicly there is no reason for a newspaper to publish it, very irresponsible.

I don’t care what you say or what arguments you use, there is no reason for private citizens to own fully automatic weapons, high capacity clips or armor piercings rounds or any of that other bullshit.  If you are truly only owning a gun for hunting, target shooting and home defense those items are not needed, not by a long shot.  All you are doing by creating an argument out of those items is clouding the real issue of gun control and making it last forever and creating more problems than there need to be.

If you want to own a gun I have no problem with it at all, but I do want you to go through a background check and prove that you can use and store it responsibly.  Not everyone is entitled to own a gun, just like not everyone is entitled to operate a motor vehicle.  Do I want to see guns removed entirely from the citizenry?  Of course not, but I do desire that my government makes sure that only safe people own guns.     Oh what’s that, “If you outlaw guns only outlaws will own guns”?  Kiss my ass, that is the lamest thing I have ever heard.  No matter what we are gonna have people break the law for the simple fact that they have no respect for the law regardless of the issue.  Guns, cigarettes, jaywalking…  it makes no difference if they decide to break they law they will.  That is where enforcement of the laws comes into play and with guns, the punishment should be even more severe for a crime committed with a gun.

The real problem, as I see it, is this:  If owning your guns is more important to you than the safety of children, then no, you should not be allowed to own guns.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2013 in free thought, gun control, Laws, Obama, opinion

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Let’s Talk About Gun Control

  1. Zombie Spirituality

    March 13, 2013 at 8:43 am

    You are a idiot, don’t get me wrong I have a few in my family but WOW! Good luck when the zombies come buddy….

    Like

     
  2. Jim

    March 13, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Zombies? Really that is the best argument you could throw at me?

    Like

     

What's On Your Mind?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

